Forums / The Stands: Intelligent Footy Debate
Order: Newest / Oldest
The Ajax Side That Never Was...
Rulipan (PSV) 4 months ago
Hi everyone,

My name is Roel and I have been enjoying footytube for a couple of years now. Despite the fact that it's mainly UK-flavored, I like it a lot to see a more diverse take on the sport I love so much, instead of only sharing footy-talk with my fellow Dutchies.

I stumbled upon an old post from 2012 on SabotageTimes.com, and wondered what could have happened if such thing as 'Financial Fairplay' actually worked.

Now with all this absurd amounts flying around on the transfer market.... And Van Gaal (an Ajax-man) about to splash the cash on behalf of Man Utd, I thought this contribution might be actual.

'If' Ajax wouldn't have had to sell anyone in order to stay out of debt (a fact some other more mediterranean clubs don't seem to care much about), the Ajax team could have looked somewhat like this:

1. Cillessen
2. Van der Wiel
3. Chivu
4. Vermaelen
5. Maxwell
6. Nigel de Jong
7. Van der Vaart
8. Sneijder
9. Huntelaar
10. Zlatan
11. Suarez

(subs: Vertonghen, Eriksen, Alderweireld, Stekelenburg, Blind, Emanuelson, Suleymani, Anita)

P. S. At the same time PSV would have been playing a team that included Van Bommel, Arjen Robben, Afellay, Alex, Kevin Strootman, Dries Mertens, Amrabat, Dzsudzsak, Jeremain Lens, Danko Lazovic and Farfan.... Though that side would have had too many attackers

When is this sport ever going to be more fair? Or should we just get rid of all the 'minor' leagues and and start up an all-Emirates-Russia-Qatar league?

Don't want to rant.... I'm just really curious to know what people from countries with the bigger leagues think about this.

Looking forward to reading about your opinions.

Roel
Dougie27 (Arsenal) 3 months ago